all this useless beauty

By jasonjklewis

Sam Lee

It took an hour and forty minutes to make a journey that would usually take twenty minutes. As I waited for the bus in the rain I debated whether I should just turn around and come home, I'm so glad that I didn't...

Same Lee's 'Ground of it's own' was my favourite album of last year, it's a collection of modern interpretations of old gypsy folk songs. His band play zither, tabla, an Indian squeeze box, a Jews Harp as well as conventional cello, trumpet, etc. It was a mesmerising experience.

Unlike every other gig I've ever blipped at, it was such a quiet intimate affair and no one was holding camera phones aloft and taking photographs. I worried that I might break the ambiance when I started snapping. No one did.

The highlight of the show was the amazing 'The Ballad of George Collins' (it has rather peculiar video), and the heartbreaking finale Goodbye My Darling.

Tonight I'm off to see My Bloody Valentine. Earplugs at the ready!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.