Jen_Elliot

By Jen_Elliot

Art Class

Well that is the first time I've drawn in a long time. Drew at my pal C's hen weekend on the Sunday a few years ago. Did an art class around the late 90s, occasional art class on holiday as a teenager and I did have a notebook I'd do an occasional drawing in from those days, but as an academic kid, there was no space in my school timetable for art after 2nd year.

I heard about this class from the Bellfield apple tree project. Annie Lord organised the project - planting apple trees round Porty, Musselburgh, Craigmillar and perhaps further too as part of Porty Art Walk. Those with trees (or who want to watch the trees) can join a facebook page #neighbouringorchards. Bellfield has three trees now, saplings went in the ground in Oct if memory serves me well. The art classes are free, for four weeks over zoom. Tonight was the first. We were supplied with a booklet of coloured paper, 2 pencils, a rubber and two charcoal sticks made from pruned apple tree twigs. Aim is we'll record the apple trees' development.

Tonight Annie got us to split the page in four and draw the items without taking our eyes off it i.e. not watching what we were drawing, then outline only, then texture, then a 10 second 'essence' capture. I really enjoyed it. The above is the ten minute study. In this we were allowed to use the two pencils.

We'll be sent an exercise to do with the apple trees during the week. I have to say, it was a very pleasant moment and I was pleasantly surprised by the result. As the blip year approaches, where will drawing now take me.

We were to bring leaves. They had been moved by the time I took the above shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.