ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Last Christmas

...I should have been opening this as my main present! It was ordered a fortnight before Xmas but I received a text on 22nd December saying there had been a “delay”. And then Boris locked us all down in January so that was that, for a few months.
When the shops did reopen, I enquired as to its whereabouts, but was told it was still stuck in a warehouse somewhere. And then, this week, I received the welcome text that it was ready for collection. As we were coming down to Chester anyway today, it was no hardship to take a slight detour into Lancaster to pick it up.
In the interests of full disclosure, I should say I already own this album but who can resist a limited edition, remastered box set with bonus tracks? Not me!
The concert footage was shown on Sky Arts earlier this year, but only an edited version, so looking forward to seeing the fully restored, surround sound DVD in due course. And I’ve got the drive home to Kendal on Thursday to enjoy the remixed CDs.
A good session in the gym before lunch - pretty much back to pre-lockdown weights now. Back home and I had a text off my friend saying he had just booked his second jab. In a weird coincidence, whilst chatting to him I received a text from the doctor inviting me to book my second jab!
It was nice to walk through the door when we got to Chester and find it clean, tidy and warm. And the food in the fridge and freezer was nice and fresh - unlike a fortnight ago when we found it had all gone off in the four months we’d been away!
It’s all been a bit hectic today, trying to fit everything in before we left. Time now to put our feet up, pop a pizza in the oven and just chill for the evening. I might even become “Comfortably Numb”...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.