Shall we dance?

I am borrowing the title of a Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers movie, in which Astaire danced with a chorus of women dancers all wearing masks of Ginger Rogers while singing a song of the same name. The balance and delicacy of movement of the heron is at least as beautiful as were Astaire and Rogers. And was less self-aware and posing for others to admire.

I left work ahead of the traffic so that I would not be late for daughter C and the grandboys who are driving up to have a meal with us. C will then leave Mr H behind to do some jobs around the beach house (an agreement between him and Granny S). As it happens, they have been delayed and I had ample time for a jog to the Southend mudflats where this heron was one of the many I saw along with plentiful other birdlife.

Including a couple or three Kuaka, which "should" have been on the way back to Alaska, and instead will be over-wintering in this area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.