analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Ingenious. Leica/Lumix Macro-Elmarit 45mm

I was looking on the Internet for a long-discontinued honing guide, when I came across the webpage of a business selling tools and materials for jewelers and watchmakers.  Included was this little honing guide meant for sharpening the skinny tools used for engraving.  I've searched for years for a honing jig small enough to hold my narrowest chisels, and there it was!  For the photograph, I mounted one with a 2mm wide blade.  In practice, the blade projects the correct amount from the guide to give a 30° angle to the cutting edge.  The little roller runs on a water stone, its width preventing the blade from rocking from side to side and producing a rounded edge.  Meticulous sharpening is the first step to first-rate woodworking.  Jigs like this help to make the process consistent and repeatable - and enjoyable.  I won the item I was originally looking for on an eBay auction, - with my Editor's assistance to place a bid at the very last second -  and that one will make an appearance here on Blip in a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.