Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A completely silly idea...

I have been wasting time fiddling around this morning for hours quite a wee while. I didn't want to do just another daffodil shot, having done one yesterday, but it's too dreich to go out. I set up some still lifes (lives?) but not happy with any.

What if, instead of a nice black background, I had a really colourful complicated background? I kept coming back to this silly idea - what if the painter of our favourite painting had put a vase of daffodils on the blue chair? Bear with me - I know she wouldn't that would obviously be TOO MUCH.

However, I persisted with this silly idea. I took a shot of the painting on the wall - looking up at it so it was distorted and had to be fixed later. Then I put a chair on the table and a box on the chair, to get the vase of daffs at the same height as the chair.

I then faffed about big time in PS, adding a layer mask to the daffs and erasing the chair and the box, leaving the original shot behind. This is really good fun, and I did it for practise, really.

Once I'd done all that, I realised that the vase was taken at the wrong angle, of course, I had to look down on it, and get level with the painting, ie on a chair. So I had to shot more photos. Then a quick selection round the flowers and resize and a bit of warping. Same result, but much quicker. And this will have to do, because I have spent so bloomin' long on it and it's now time for the rugby!! And pointless, really.

This morning an official looking form came from HMRC (Tax Man). It is a 'Certificate of Age Exception' dated November 2010. What the heck is that about?

The film yesterday, Side Effects, was terrific!! Full of twists and turns. Great acting. Don't think I've enjoyed a film so much for ages.

I'll just have time to tidy up my 'studio' (ie dining room) - it's strewn with jugs, daffodils, boxes, water sprays, black cloth, still life props, and chairs all over the place. Looks like there's been a party in my house and I wasn't at it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.