Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A Non-Mothers' Day Brunch

Up and out today for a brunch before the Mother's Day crowds. We went to a pub in Leith that we've been meaning to go to for years. We were searching on the iPads last night for 'The best eggs benedict in Edinburgh' and found several places we'll have to try. JR is the eggs benny fan - I'm a French toast, crispy bacon and maple syrup fan. They don't seem to include a fried banana here, but that was the staple in NZ, and can't be beaten.

The pub was a great place - I'd love it as my local. The muzak was 60s classics, so acceptable, but the sound system was tinny. Sticking speakers all around is not enough. They really need to invest in decent bass sounds. I spared the waiter my opinions, though. This time.

The French toast was good. But not the best. It was sourdough bread, which is good, but the egg isn't soaked in enough (never is) and so it was quite dry in the middle. The bacon was crispy and there was a reasonable amount of maple syrup. You'd think it was gold, the tiny wee amounts they give you. JR declared her eggs benny to be good. Very good. Grilled on top, and a hot plate, which is not always the norm, though you'd think it should be.

We left for the pub in a hailstorm! By the time we'd had our brunch it was sunny again, though grey skies. And now, home again, it's bright sunshine and blue skies. We drove around the waterfront looking for a blip, to no avail, as this coincided with the dull grey skies. Then we came back past the football fitba' crowds and round by Regent Road. The sun was out and the sky was a bit more interesting. I popped down to the graveyard there, looking back at Arthur's Seat and the Crags. It's a great view, and I've never been there before, although I've looked at it many times from the Royal Mile.

That's Holyrood Palace middle distance left, with the Parliament the new building in the middle. This is a six photo panorama, and it's taken ages. My computer really struggled with it. I kept going away and doing chores while it spun and wheezed over rendering it. Then I had to adjust the perspective and fill in bits that the weren't in the rectangular crop. Still, I've got plenty of time before the rugby today.

Terrible game yesterday. I hate wasting time with setting and re-setting scrums. I might write to my friends at the SRU (Scottish Rugby Union) to suggest they do away with them. A throw up to restart as in netball is much more sensible. Also, there was some booing. Not good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.