Playing life by ear.

By Crazyoldbird

Chinchulan 16

Chinchulan (L)


How to lighten up a whole load of negative stuff in a few seconds.


I hadn’t seen him since the new year, then in March he decided to come in the afternoon for chat.
He explained how difficult it is to find time, what with online school, homework and football.


I know this is true but he is sixteen now and at the back of my mind there is fear that he will no longer want to spend  time with his wrinkly old Nonna, and I wonder what we are going to talk about for two long hours.


Then he arrives and I ask him what is new at school. 
He gives me a long and competent philosophy lesson which drifts into religion and ends, while connecting the two, in his very own ideas on the origin of the universe……… 
How am I feeling?


As he says good by he says “you know Nonna, you are the only person I can talk to about these things” ………….again.


Fast forward  four weeks, we pick him up from football.
He is with one of his mates who has to be dropped off first. 
Only five minutes remain of L in the back of the car with us. 


He gives us a very concise update of his news, gets out of the car, rings the bell on his gate, and I think “he is gone” then he turns around, comes up close to my window, looks me right in the eyes and says “ Nonna, I will come and visit you again one of these afternoons”


I answer “and you will teach me something else”.


Even just reading this I could easily cry tears of joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.