Playing life by ear.

By Crazyoldbird

Clue n.1 Detail

OK, so I have always loved detail and still do.

I had a long chat with Sofia this morning which was great as it's ages since I last saw her  and I have so few friends left. 
That's what comes of having mostly older friends, you lose them earlier.

I walk past a shop, or a house or market stall and there is hardly anyone left to bump into.

L came for lunch today so there were three of us intead of two. I showed him how my lettuce plants are coming along and he pretended to be interested.

In the afternoon I went into the back garden between rain showers and spotted a spider's web. I couldn't see a spider, but  such a whole load of fascinating junk that I could have sat for hours just trying to figure out what the various bits were.

I made a whopping discovery last week. 
In the over thirty years that we have lived here, I have always done the gardening myself. That has always been the deal. I love the garden, so I do all the work, except that as I'm getting older it has become a bit heavy going. 
I have learnt from pruning olive trees in the country that it is much more enjoyable if I sit down and enjoy the view occasionally, so I tried it while doing the gardeing. 
Not only was I able to carry on for much longer, I got to the point where I was just sitting, enjoying being there  and having no intention of getting up.  
Then the penny dropped. Gardens are are not only for working in but are for doing nothing at all in. 
I understood that perfectly well with sailing boats. Once you have got the thing going and the weather is right, just sit back and enjoy it until intervention is needed.
No guilt whatsover, which just goes to prove that not even I am too old to learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.