Well the die is cast...

My assessed walk was today and I’m happy that I did as well as I was able. Both assessors told me that they had learned things from my stories. So the results lie in the hands of the gods (otherwise known as the assessors!). 
One distraction towards the end of the walk was that one of the volunteers, who is a friend of mine,  was tidying in the Brothers’ Cemetery. I’d just moved onto the last part of my talk there when he came over and asked whether I was telling the story of his great grandfather whose grave we were near. I wasn’t so he said he would tell us about him. I tried to tell him that I was being assessed and on a strict time limit but he’s stone deaf and carried on. I apologised to the assessors who told me not to worry and that they were interested in what he had to say. I’d have been delighted to have him as a guest speaker if it had been any normal tour but today? Mmm
This is Tom who led the first walk this morning. He dressed in the uniform of the Royal Guernsey Militia. His tour was very professional but the Militia is not a subject that interests me and I’m afraid my attention lapsed through much of his talk. But I’m sure he’s scored highly.
The afternoon walk was an interesting one featuring the Barrieres de la Ville. We never had town walls despite the king ordering that one should be built but we did have 6 Barrieres. The town stands on a cliff with the sea on one side; town walls were not needed for defence! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.