BRIANW

By BRIANW

A River Flows & All That Jazz, Aylesford

Today's image has a story to tell. After a run in the pouring rain this morning, and with little sign the weather was going to get better, I didn't think I would get an image today. However, by early afternoon the downpours had ceased, the temperature was up and although it was overcast there was no rain, so I decided to chance it and go down to the village to try and capture something.
This was when I passed a commercial premises and took today's extra which was going to be my main shot. It was then that a man (and his dog) started following me and he said "Excuse me, excuse me, why were you taking a photograph?" I must admit, at this point, my heart started to race as I thought he was going to be confrontational or start swearing at me (I think my anxiety about strangers has been heightened by the pandemic). Luckily, once I had explained myself and said I just loved taking photographs and that my job was actually photographing paintings he visibly relaxed. So much so that he pulled out this painting from one of his outbuildings and asked if I wanted to take a shot of it and that I could have it if I wanted (I politely declined). Just as I was taking the shot his dog, Jazz, walked into the frame (pun intended!) and there was my image. Serendipity and engaging with someone I didn't know wrapped up in one!
This all really helped take my mind off work, especially all the big (and restrictive) changes and redundancies coming up. It is all so utterly joyless and stressful but will be enforced all the same, with no input allowed from the people that do the job everyday, i.e. us, the technicians and any of the hard working support staff. What a way for management to behave while highlighting Mental Heath Awareness Week. A classic case of wilful fuckwittery!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.