Grammy

By Grammy

Another Mother’s Day in the Sun

My sister and I started a tradition years ago. Our hubbies join us for lawn clean up and flower garden planting at our Mother’s home on or near Mother’s Day. This year we started with a take out Panera breakfast before the fun began. The men trimmed around every tree, flower bed, and building. My BIL cleared the scrub bushes that were blocking our Mother’s waterfront view. They cut off low hanging/dead limbs throughout that acre of trees. Then they loaded all the rubbish into the truck. My sister (mostly) and I cleaned flower beds/pots and planted the flowers we bought for the occasion plus a few tomato plants. My blip shows one finished project with the workers and recipient. Hubby and I had promised Brooklyn we’d attend her home soccer game so we left around 12:40. My sister wrote at 3:30 to say they were just leaving. What a long but productive day. B’s team won the game 4-1 and B blocked several shots. My children spoiled me with a hanging flower basket, herbs and bedding plants, my fav homemade cookies, a delicious seafood and lumpia dinner, a “flight” of speciality ice cream, etc. We put in our 10,000+ steps and it is definitely recliner time. I’d say we had a fantastic Mother’s Day. Hope each of you had a wonderful Sunday as well. Next to being a grandmother, being a mother is my greatest blessing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.