Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A beer inside a pub!

Action all round this morning - JR to the gym, and when she came back I went to my torture session. Gosh it really feels good when it ends! 20 minutes doesn’t sound much, but I assure you - it is!

Today after my session I wandered along towards Bruntsfield, perchance to have a coffee and a scone. I rang JR to come and meet me with Archie, and she was game.

There was a window seat in our favourite - Montpelier’s, so I popped in. The window area is the doggie area. They have new perspex screens between the tables. And only two tables instead of, at times, four!

JR had just had her breakfast, so didn’t want to have any food, so I just had a crispy bacon buttie (with sweet chilli sauce) and it was just right. I also had a glass of Paolozzi lager, just because I could. Archie got a big treat from a waitress, so he was quite happy tolerated sitting there watching everyone.

The painters have been popping up at just about every window, front and back, so Archie has been kept out of rooms, or I put the radio or TV on to distract from any strange bangings or scratchings (they’ve sanded and repainted our window sills). Hopefully they’re nearly finished - they had a nice dry sunny day for their work today. And it looks like we’ll have a dry sunny day tomorrow as well. We’re being spoilt!

No news of Uncle A being allowed home... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.