Kath's Journal

By Kathb

Spoonbill

I was going to concentrate on  back-blipping from my holiday, but can't resist making today's blip first. 
 
I visited RSPB Leighton Moss to pick up some brand new Swarovski optics and was told that there were a couple of spoonbills around that could be viewed from the Eric Morecambe hide. Lockdown restrictions were lifted a little today, and the hides were open at last. 

I sat next to my sister, and was scanning the far side of the lake for the birds. My sister isn't a bird watcher, as such,  but she was enjoying watching the avocets ( I thought) with the naked eye. Eventually, she nudges me and says, ' What's this bird that's walking around down here with the salad servers? Looks like it needs a bowl of lettuce' :-) 

Sometimes, you just need to look fairly close, rather than assume everything is far away. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.