Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Black-tailed Prairie Dogs

These pups were right at the edge of the road when I drove by.  When I stopped the car farther up the road, I saw 4 of them.  They are in the extra and you can see the blacktop and white line on the road.  I watched them for a while and took tons of photos.  Then mom showed up and is in my main blip with two of the babies.  I was pretty far away but was afraid I'd spook them if I got too close, so all my cute shots of them interacting with mom were too blurry to blip.  I started to slowly move closer and they all disappeared into their hole.  

The second extra is a screen shot from the Boulder County Osprey Camera live video.  I loved the shot and really wanted to include it, even though I didn't take the photo.  I hope I don't get in trouble!  Mom is on the left and Dad is on the right with a headless fish in his talons.  Between them in the nest cup are their four eggs.  The camera has been down for a few weeks so we didn't get to see the eggs being laid.  Fortunately, they were able to fix it before the eggs hatch.  The experts are predicting the first hatch in the next few days. :-))

The dentist thinks my gums are healing well which is reassuring.  The sensitivity to cold will most likely improve over the next few weeks with use of a special toothpaste.  I am very grateful that he didn't say I needed a root canal!  

Thank you to everyone for your visits and stars and hearts.  I appreciate all of them! xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.