Journies at home

By journiesathome

Creeping back out

The ice is melting in Antarctica, Israel is bombing Gaza, The Spanish refuse to save a new born Moroccan baby from the sea, the Indian variant has come to Europe, the bars and restaurants have reopened but social distancing has gone out of the window, the terraces are crammed and the 10pm curfew has gone to fuck.  The police are busy.
On the drive to school I usually run my lessons through my head but I'm getting weary of that and thought I'd concentrate on beautiful things.
The fallow fields were full of poppies, the sky was full of tricolore parachutes, the snow has taken a beating from the sun and the mountains are dark green.
Since the cafés closed in October, Nicos and I have bought sandwiches and a bottle of wine on Thursdays and settled down in a field for an hour between lessons.  The weather has always been clement, even in the middle of winter.
Today was no exception, but he took me to an Italian where the only available place was on a sofa with a table the level of our shins.  This made eating a pizza hard and we got into an oily mess before heading back to the chalk face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.