Tongland Abbey Dig

Today's the day .......................... for an update

Thought I might bring you up to date on what's been happening at the Tongland Abbey Archaeological Dig, especially as today those immortal words rang out - "Sheila's found a wall ..........!"

The definition of 'a wall' (at our Dig at any rate) is when you find three or more worked stones, lying (fairly) horizontal and in a straight(ish) line.  I had just found the fourth one when David uttered those words. I was desperately trying to contain my excitement and modestly pretend that it was cool - but really my joy knew no bounds.  It was all the better because this trench that I had been patiently scraping away at for the last couple of months, seemed very unpromising, to put it mildly.  It was outside the area where the main Abbey buildings were thought to be - but obviously it isn't.  

So this is David, our esteemed leader, recording my 'wall' - and presumably going back to the drawing board ...................... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.