JAM28

By JAM28

Caswell Bay

At last some sunny weather here in Wales!
Master M came home for a surprise visit on Tuesday and he was very happy to drive me to the beach this morning for a couple of hours. He’s missed the sea, being at Uni in Birmingham. He’s actually finished already, would you believe, but he’s heading back next week to stay there til July. It’s been so lovely to see him.

Chemo update:
It’s been a while since I posted and things have been tricky. My last cycle was postponed to see if my neuropathy got better and as it hadn’t, the oncologist took me off the drug I was on and put me on a different drug which I started on Tuesday. If it doesn’t make my neuropathy worse, I can have four cycles of this drug. It’s every three weeks though for this one, not every two, so it’s going to drag out longer now until the end of July. So when I thought I was nearly over the finish line, the line moved! However, I’m sure it was the right decision.
So far I’ve had no side effects from the new drug and my neuropathy is slowly improving. My feet are still worse than my hands and I can’t walk much at all.

So Caswell Bay was perfect for a trip today. Parking is directly opposite the beach and you walk past the cafe to go onto the beach, so I was able to take a coffee with me :)
We sat and read and I managed to walk out to the sea to have a paddle. The sea was lovely and cooling on my tingly feet.
I really didn’t think I’d be up to doing this three days after chemo, so it has been a great bonus and has given my spirits a lift.

I’ve also had a radiotherapy consultation this week and found out that my radiotherapy will only be every day for a week, rather than three weeks. A new treatment has just been signed off which is as effective over a shorter time.
So that’s good news! Might be finished by the end of August, as I need a three week break after chemo finishes before radiotherapy can start.

I am grateful for a good team in Swansea and the way that appointments are dovetailing together and being sent in a very timely manner. The nurses in the chemo unit are excellent and very attentive. I feel very safe there.

Moreover, I am grateful to God for sustaining  me through all this and giving me peace that my days are in His hands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.