The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Far from the maddening crowd (sic)

...said GG. She wasn't wrong. People can be maddening sometimes. Fortunately we didn't see any on our walk.

I call this the buttercup walk. From Stratford Park, Stroud, we walked up over Callowell fields to the Farmhill estate, and then took a right turning into the fields that lead down to Callowell Farm (top pic) and eventually to the A46, through meadows of buttercups, wild clover and plantain. Blissful!

From the A46 we were soon back at the periphery of the park, and walked past the miniature railway line, over the bridge, up to the orangery behind the mansion, over the playing fields, to the car park. GG, who has three children, had never noticed the miniature railway. She said she wished she'd known about all the things to do in Stroud: she had the kids too close together and couldn't get them all out of the house at once. It's true that triple buggies are an uncommon sight, especially in hilly towns. And we didn't have the internet, either, in the 70s.

Then we went back to GG's place. I lay back in a swing seat, and was startled to see a grey and white lop eared bunny come round the corner, look at me and lollop away again. GG got up, followed it to the rose bushes, and then phoned a friend to alert the WhatsApp group. No one claimed it. We had lunch in the garden and went through the packing list (yes, really!) then GG took me home, via the Co-op. It was a terrifically sunny day: blue sky, birdsong, the works.

Steve came back just after me and said he was going to the Lake. I wanted to go, but was too tired. Lay down in the hammock, and next thing, I was asleep! Retired to bed eventually, despite the lovely day, because I had a headache. I think I still have, even after paracetamol.

I'm grateful for a beautiful day,vans even more grateful that all I have to do tomorrow is pack my case! Clearly I'm still not quite right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.