1683

I had to take the car to the VW garage to the west of Edinburgh. An engine warning light had come on at the weekend. The manual implied it was the catalytic converter that was at fault. (Fortunately) it turned out to be a more general engine issue which was readily sorted. At a cost but much less than I had feared.

I had to leave the car for most of the day so on my way back into town on the bus I stopped off to have coffee and a catch up with my successor Elliot. As the other day so good to meet up in person.

Mid afternoon I headed back out and with fortuitous bus changes arrived very early. So I went for a walk around Newbridge and came across this inn. As stated on the front there has been an inn here since 1683 on what has been the main road from Edinburgh to Glasgow. Today the M8 is not far away.

This building was put up at the end of the 19th century but it is of interest that an inn has been here since the time of Charles II.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.