Get A Grip

Becoming a dentist involves at least five years study at dental school, followed by one or two years of supervised dental practice. It seems however that at no point are they trained in decision making.
I broke a tooth in April last year, it started to give me a little grief over the last week so an appointment for this morning was arranged.
Having explained I was “feeling some discomfort” I was offered;
Extraction
Crown
Filling - unlikely to stay in
Do nothing
I asked what he recommended - “Aaah Mr Stevens, I can recommend nothing, it is your decision”
Seven minutes, nothing done, £25 lighter and they wonder why no one goes to the dentist unless they absolutely have to.
The final straw was the receptionist;
“You haven’t had a check up for a while”
“That’s because you have been closed”
“We are open now”
“Sorry my crystal ball is not working, book me in for one as soon as you have a slot”.

I did have a better afternoon, Barry, Janette and the girls came over to Falmouth. Sam and I joined them for a boat trip out across the harbour, through the Carrick Roads and up the River Fal as far as the Tregothan Estate. The sun shone, Sam and I sat with the girls and chatted, pointing things out, I enjoyed getting up close to some of the vessels in the docks. With the sun shining and spending time with the girls it was a great afternoon and I thoroughly enjoyed it. They had a restaurant table booked for the evening in Penzance which meant they were on their way by 4:30.

That gave me time to get home, change, grab a coffee and head of for a row in the gig. Back home around 8:00pm and felt tired, that ‘happy’ sort of tired through exertion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.