Grey Heron

My plan to distract the geese was a bit of a failure as there were none around when I got to the first clearing. There was no sign of the young one either. I walked round the loch but couldn't see her. When I had walked completely around it and was approaching the point she usually hangs out at, there were people feeding the geese. I thought that she would not appear with all the geese around but she landed right in front of me. I quickly took a shot and got her fish out. She got quite a lot before the Canada geese surrounded her. She faced them up and continued eating her fish and the Canada geese largely ignored her. It was only when the Greylags appeared that she flew over to her branch carrying the last peice of fish. I watched her looking around. She spotted the adult and took off after it, she then proceded to chase it off before returning to the loch. It is obviously her territory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.