BRIANW

By BRIANW

The Topless Drinker, Rochester

We got up early today to do our early morning run before the temperature became too much. A four mile run away from any traffic was just the tonic, even if we felt a bit weary afterwards.
Soon enough it was time for the weekly food shop (it was my turn), at which point I hit a problem. All the shopping trolleys were suddenly locked up again and, like many others I'm sure, I realised I din't have a pound coin to be able to release one. I haven't had any physical cash of any sort in my possession for  months and months. Very luckily, someone had forgotten to re-egange one trolley with all the others and I was able to use that. Phew!
After the food shop we took a short trip to Rochester where I took today's image in the grounds of the castle. We had a quick ice cold beer and then it was back home to watch the football. England produced a totally professional performance and gave Croatia absolutely nothing. It was almost stress free to watch! Our friend Baz also turned up (he looks remarkably like Gareth!) so we all celebrated together!
I didn't know how to comment on the distressing Eriksen situation as it brought back memories of losing one of our photographers many years ago. He was on a way to a location job in a taxi, and just like Eriksen, he suddenly keeled over and was rapidly unconscious. Unfortunately, he did not recover and died very soon afterwards. For Eriksen the  medical staff and his fellow team members were totally brilliant and they combined to save his life. It was so distressing to watch but it is amazing that he is alive, awake and able to communicate. Something like that really does bring everything into perspective.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.