First marathon

Home again after a great 12 days in The Lakes and it's going to take a while to get all the pics processed.
However, we went so I could run a marathon so I'm getting this up first and a collage of some views along the route).
It was a early start as my start time was 7.20am and the sun was up, causing a bit of worry about it getting too hot. Fortunately on the longest, open stretches clouds were around and a slight breeze, too. We started at Coniston Old Hall, headed up to LIttle Langdale then over to Tarn Hows for a lap and a half. After that was a long climb through Grizedale Forest with wonderful views across the lake, though, rather disconcertingly, the halfway point was across from the finish line - only about a mile in a straight line.
After the forest (mostly on fairly open tracks) it was across moorland and then down to the foot of the lake before heading up again to Beacon Tarn (main pic) and across open fell side before heading back down to the lake. The final 3 miles were along the shore, with some of it very rough underoot but plenty of shade. I reached the finish in just over 7 hours, I could have done it in less than 7 if I hadn't had the camera!
Mr Rat acted as my support crew and met me at several points with a flak of tea and some snacks - though he was too late at one, despite me taking a little longet than intended for a break (though I had renewed eneragy for the last 11k so it was probably worth it). He also ran with me for the last section and the support was much appreciated.
A paddle in the lake afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.