A Tick on my Bucket List

Perhaps I should have taken a selfie while I sat on this bench outside Twatt church south of Birsay this morning.It is the only named item in the hamlet as any road sign erected is immediately nicked by tourists. In Kirkwall it is possible to buy a T-shirt with this name emblazoned on the front, labelling you as a bit of a twit.

The reason I should have sat on the bench was my assumption that the light breeze at my back on the road north would remain a light breeze as I turned round to come back and not change into a relentless 14 mph wind straight into my face.

By the time I finally reached home, had showered and changed out of sweaty cycling gear, the wind appeared to relax and as I sit in the garden now listening to the lap of the water on the rocks over the wall. There is hardly a breath of wind and it is so hot, I may have to go inside to cool down.
This is a first for me in all my visits to Orkney.
I am not complaining!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.