Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Mission accomplished

Yes, after much deliberation and indeed procrastination (considering that we went through this two years ago and abandoned the idea when we couldn’t decide), we have now purchased two new sofas. We spent another hour or so in the shop, although we’d decided last night, but started to change minds and have doubts once surrounded by sofas. Not helped by an elderly - actually, our age - couple trying to decide as well. So much choice!

Archie, bless him, was very patient! I think he really does like shopping. Probably more than I do.

We walked there, but I decided to take the bus back home. Actually two buses. But the first one stopped and I looked out, and there was a favourite cafe from years ago (before Archie) that I used to frequent because it doesn’t play MUZAK. So I jumped off and went in and had a big slab of carrot cake with my flat white. I mentioned the lack of MUZAK, and how pleasant it was, but added my disappointment at the ‘no dogs’ policy. ‘Oh, but we love dogs!’ she replied. Well, that’s new! Though if Archie’s seven, then I haven’t been back there for seven years, so it’s not necessarily new. I shall certainly be back there soon with Archie (and JR).

Watched the first half of the Wales football match, but had to miss the second half because we’d been invited over to Hazel’s for nibbles and bubbles, which was of course, much better.

We had a wander in the cemetery near the sofa shop again. It’s a rather higgeldy-piggeldy one with lots of fallen over headstones - not tidy and well kept like our local one. Archie always pulls us in the gate. He used to stay with a sitter nearby, and she took him there, so perhaps he remembers. 

I have added an extra of the new champagne glasses tested last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.