BRIANW

By BRIANW

Still Life With Tomatoes, Aylesford

It was my first full day in self-isolation yesterday and I was feeling a bit discombobulated, restless and anxious so I was really looking forward to taking my mind off everything and watching my home country, Scotland, play their final group match in the European Championship. Unfortunately, we lost to Croatia 3-1 and we are now out of the competition. At the final whistle I was rather pissed off but, after a bit of reflection, I did realise the better team won on the night and they did score a goal of rare beauty through Modric.
Scotland's unofficial song for these this championship has been "Yes Sir, I Can Boogie", a disco classic from 1977. As with all of these things the round about story of how it came to be adopted involves cross- dressing and a pre-wedding video!!
My breaking news is that I've just got my test back and it was negative (yahoo!). Unfortunately, because I was in direct contact with someone who tested positive I've been told by the app that I need  to carry on self-isolating until 23.59 on the 28th. This will not go down well with my boss, I'm sure, but I just have to stick to the deadline. I can't avoid it because of the tracking element on my phone. So, even if I wanted to go back to work I can't.
Seeing I can't go anywhere it was time to do another still life. I wanted it to look odd, surreal and slightly disconcerting and I hope I've achieved that in a way of some sort. It was good to see the sunshine again today and, of course, I feel quite a bit more sunny myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.