TaraBallenger

By TaraBallenger

Joyful singing

Cutline: Mennonites from the Columbia area perform traditional accoustic hymns for members of a retirement center in Ashland, Missouri once a month. I am doing a photo essay on four young Mennonite missionaries (pictured in front row).

Comment: Flourescent light SUCKS. I was very self-conscious while taking pictures because Canon cameras are SO loud. CLICK CLICK. I only had the nerve to take pictures right as songs were ending or beginning. I don't really believe that journalists should signficanlty alter the reality of their subjects, including a pleasant evening performance. I spoke with the Mennonite singers afterwards; they said they couldn't even hear my camera. Darn.

I like the symmetry and the framing on the bottom. I'm not really wild about the rose, but it'd be unethical to move it. Also, some of the singers have their eyes closed. This is an issue, because their eyes were frequently closed for long periods of time because they knew the music by heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.