Hancock's Half Hour

Amazingly warm outside so we sit and read the ST. A bad day then to have bought tickets for a matinee showing of Nomadland, but it was the last showing anywhere in Edinburgh and we wanted to see it on the big screen. And then we realised it was a closed caption showing where every damn sound is described. How many times did it bloody say "pensive music playing" over some manipulative bit of keyboard tinkling. And do deaf people really need to read "rumble" over a shot of sugar beet conveyor. Maybe they do. I should shuddup. The main focus is on McDormand’s thrawn character but for me, the young guy she meets without even an RV strips away the freedom and independence schtick that the film’s washed with.
Back to bad news. The bigGav is covid +ve. Scarcely believable as he’s a tradesman and tests all the time. He tested -ve on Saturday before travelling to Edinburgh. I met him, hopefully briefly enough to have dodged the bullet, but I do a test anyway, though I’m aware if I have caught it that it’ll be a few days before I get a +ve. Lumme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.