Grate!

For as long as I can remember, the King's Arms* has been a pub of last resort in Kirkby Lonsdale**. But during the lockdown last year it was completely refurbished and done so nicely (new owners in the picture somewhere), that when Dan and I were in there for a drink last Sunday, I was moved to book a table for dinner this evening.

Thus, the Minx and I arrived at seven-thirty and enjoyed a meal that was every bit as good as the new décor. The menu is fairly limited - five starters, five mains - but that's often a good sign and, anyway, WOULD RECOMMEND.

On the way back up Mitchelgate I noticed this drain cover. Look at it, with its wonderfully ageing iron. The road has recently been re-tarmac'd but I wonder when this grille was last replaced?

****
Reading: 'Meet Mathilda, Rocket Builder' by Dom Conlon


*Always styled as The Kings Arms but I'm not subscribing to their apostrophe crime.
**Although always favoured by Bob, who owns a few bars and whose opinion ought, therefore, to be taken into account.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.