(Not) Cricket

I remember the first time someone threw me a cricket ball. I don't recall who that person was, or where it happened, just that the ball was so surprisingly hard. And that was where it ended for cricket and me.

At school, the year was divided into rugby and cricket but thanks to one of those arcane privileges that featured so prominently in grammar school life, the fact I played on the rugby team meant I could opt for tennis - and, later, squash - instead of cricket.

As a consequence of the above, I've never been interested in cricket. I've been to one match ever (as far as I can recall), which I spent lying on a blanket with a good book, very much enjoying the aural ambience. So, actually, there is something I like about cricket: the sounds.

****
Reading: 'Meet Mathilda, Rocket Builder' by Dom Conlon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.