Stuff

Something I know I have far too much of...

Today I really enjoyed watching two programmes on Nextflx:

"The Battered Bastards of Baseball" - a documentary telling the colourful true story of The Portland Mavericks, a scrappy independent baseball team of underdogs started by the actor Bing Russell (most famous for playing Deputy Clem Foster in Bonaza - and for, people of my age, being the father of fellow actor Kurt Russell) in the 1970's.
One review of the film states "so rife with underdog victors and hairpin twists of fortune that, if it weren't all true, no one would believe it". That sums it up perfectly. I know virtually nothing about baseball but I loved it.

"Pretend It's A City" - it's a series of conversations and interviews directed by Martin Scorsese with the American author, public speaker and occasional actor Fran Lebowitz with her pithy views of living and working in New York. Great stuff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.