Helter-skelter

By Juli

RAAAAAAAAWWWWWRRRRR!

If there was a 'Top Ten' list of the all-time most disastrous, worst-ever lessons in the history of education, the lesson I taught today (and I use the word loosely...) would make the Number 1 spot. And probably remain there for all time!

Out of a school of about 1500 students, I have two of the most challenging ones in this class. After my first disaster with them a few weeks ago, I went all-out to plan the next lesson around every eventuality I could think of, in order to manage the disruptive behaviour, and it went really well. This time, I failed dismally. No contigency planning = total disaster.

I'm not upset or anything, I'm just annoyed that I didn't prepare correctly. If I hadn't let my guard down and had prepared more activities to keep students busy and on their toes, I'm sure the lesson would have run smoothly. Because of the recent snow days - and not finishing what I wanted to in the last lesson - we are quite a bit behind so there's a lot to fit in next time. I spent a good part of last night and this morning preparing what will hopefully do the trick! It meant I totally missed Comic Relief but it had to be done while I was still fired up! I do think it's been great experience to have such a challenging class early on as it's vital to learn how to deal with difficult behaviour.

As a wise man once said (actually, a not-so-wise man once said it, too!): 'Make a fool out of me once, shame on you. Make a fool out of me twice, shame on me.' Or something like that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.