Helter-skelter

By Juli

Not so much a pond as a puddle!

This is the shallow end of our pond, about one eighth of the whole thing (which I will blip in its entirety one day, when - if - it looks less tatty!).

You can probably just about see the frogspawn, which is much, much less than we had last year - the frogs were there yesterday but today are nowhere to be seen so I guess that's our lot as far as they're concerned!

Most of the pond is clear of reeds but the ones in this shot are the stubborn ones I couldn't manage to pull up a few months ago. Probably just as well, as they provide both protection and building materials for the moorhens. I saw them this morning but there's still no sign of a nest yet.

Although it's another beautiful, sunny day, it is a bit worrying as the water level is very low. The line of dry grass on the left of this shot shows where it should be and it's a good two feet below that.

No problem with 'water' as far as my daughter goes. The penicillin seems to be working and she's gone to school, leaving me free to concentrate on playing on here working on my assignment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.