momcat1

By momcat1

Shield bug

Another semi identified bug. I think it is some sort of a shield bug- Seek gave me two different families on the same photo. So the bottom like is it is possibly a stink bug . Or something else.
I spent several hours today  drowning Japanese beetles in soapy water. I don't think I've ever seen that many before. They were all over the wild grapes and Virginia creeper and I think have probably done in at least 300 in the last 2 days, and that is the tip of the  iceberg. They are voracious and have no predators here so if you leave them to their evil devices your garden is lace, not leaves. And to make things worse I think they have guards- I got stung by a yellow jacket ( on th top of my foot of all places) when I was trying to get one. They must hire out as bodyguards .
But I got the garden weeded and the grape vine trimmed and made a grape vine wreath which is drying outside. I deadheaded the 3 peonies, forgot to do the iris and watered the pears and redbud. So it's bedtime. I am going to limp upstairs and hope tomorrow is not an crazy work day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.