Anclote Key Lighthouse

The city that is hosting the golf tournament I've been going to is called Tarpon Springs, Florida. I went today for the 3rd day in a row. I wanted to follow Sergio Garcia, but his gallery was too big. Instead, I followed one of the older guys...Justin Leonard. He really got the ball rolling, and when I left...he was tied for the lead. Like the T-shirt says...OLD GUYS RULE!

After the golf, I went into downtown Tarpon Springs. It is known for 3 things. Greeks, a beautiful harbor, and SPONGES! Face sponges, body sponges, dish sponges, and car sponges. You want a sponge...any sponge...you can get it here. Plus...how do I say this delicately...the greeks want to push the sponges on you. Maybe being persuasive might be a better term.

"Hey Mister...you need a sponge. Step in here, and let me help you pick one out."

Why did she think I needed a sponge? I just showered this morning. Think I'm pretty clean. Perhaps I do have that "he's a sucker" look.

I did end up buying a small loofah. It was funny...I asked the greek lady... "Which is the best loofah...smoother or rougher? She replied..."I like mine rough...it takes off more skin." So...rough it is.

I am in Tampa airport waiting for my wife Lisa to arrive. Since we have been apart for over 2 weeks...I'm just figuring she is going to need a good back exfoliation. I just changed my name. LARRY LOOFAH REPORTING FOR DUTY!

I took a 20 dollar sunset boat trip to get this picture. Last time we took it...we had dolphins racing alongside us. No fish this time...but a pretty good going down of the sun.

Check out my FLICKR PAGE for some sponge shots. Who would have thought that sponges could be so exciting? Just absorbing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.