The rest of forever...

By DrMac

Young Love

This has been such a lovely weekend. Very different to normal and exactly what I needed. Yesterday's long drive was really worth it as the conference was excellent and I took away loads of great ideas and three new books...now I just need to find some time to read them! I was also able to spend time with a colleague whose company I really enjoy - she and I now have plans for more trips together in the future! I collected the girls from Claire's as she kindly offered last minute to have them whilst I was away - they had lots of walks, games and attention and were shattered when they got home! Last night was a whirlwind of cleaning and tidying - it's amazing how pleasurable cleaning is when you have visitors coming! I should invite more people over in future!

Today was extra special. I got up early to walk the hounds, FaceTime you and hit the gym. I was out of there by 9am and home to prepare homemade pizza dough and toppings, build the fire and generally get everything ready for the return of the prodigal son...Q was coming over for lunch to introduce me to his girlfriend! This young lady has been in his life for over a year now so we knew it was serious, but when he rang to say that he'd like to bring her to meet me I knew she was extra special! They arrived shortly before 1pm and she is absolutely perfect!! Seriously, she has it all - personality, looks, intelligence, kindness and thoughtfulness - we all nattered like we'd known her for years, she just slotted straight in. Q clearly adores her and she is smitten too, but they are really mature in their attitudes and I - well, I'm gushing now, but I had just the best three hours that I've had in months. It was fab. My homemade pizza was perfect - not bad since I haven't made one for yolks! - and they were clearly a little nervous about FaceTime'ing you so that you could meet her - she wanted to make a good impression! When Q introduced her to you formally, on the iPad, as his girlfriend, I nearly burst with pride! Bless him! It was lovely talking to you with them, such a fab conversation.

So, they left at 4pm to drive back to Reading and I took the girls to the disused railway line for an hour and they went mental. Rang my Mum at the same time, then came home to do some household jobs, make a few Parish Council phone calls and now I'm trying to decide whether to start my next photography assignment (which is overdue, oops!) or pour a glass of red wine and read one of my new books!

I'm in that mode of, "This is the last Sunday I'll wake up alone"..."This is the last Sunday night I'll walk the dogs alone" as you will be home on Saturday for two whole weeks! Yippee!! I just can't wait.

Have a lovely week.xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.