Yedameister

By Yeda

Moving Day

Today we closed on our new home and an hour later the movers came with the first of two deliveries.

The closing was smooth as silk, but the moving wasn't so pleasant. Of course moving all the way from the other side of the world can be a bit complicated, but I think I would not go with these guys again. The inventory list was incomplete and had duplicate numbers on the boxes, so I couldn't tell what it was I was receiving, unless I opened every box as it was unloaded off of the truck. At the end of the day, the movers wanted to leave in a hurry, so the matter was not resolved. Later, I have found many things broken, damaged, or simply missing. Then I learned our second half hasn't left port, still sitting in Auckland, with no date for departure, yet. The only excuse I get is that the economy is so bad in NZ that no one is moving. It will be (hopefully) 3 to 6 months more until we receive our stuff.

I suppose I could be really upset and angry at the inefficiency and incompetence of the guys who packed us up, but strangely enough, I am not. I am very grateful to be in our new house finally. It had been a long journey, quite the transition, and now I'm very happy to stay put for a very long time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.