TheBigCheese1

By TheBigCheese1

End of term and…..

End of The Dopski’s time at Primary School!

I forgot to take a picture of her in her uniform….ooops!  

The day started with a parent thinking it was a good time to have a very passive aggressive go at me at the front gate as I was welcoming the children into school - nice.  This was also in front of all the year 6 parents waiting patiently to get past us to go into the Leaver’s Assembly, where for once I would be a parent, not a headteacher.  Apparently I was a lot calmer than other people would have been and handled her well!  

The Leaver’s Assembly was a very small affair (COVID obvs) and in it we see a slideshow of all the photos taken of the children from Reception up to yesterday.  After my emotional start to the day I nearly lost it big time when I saw The Dopski as a little cherub again!  Just a few subtle tears leaked out!!!

The afternoon was a whole school water fight on the main yard - fantastic fun all round.  I spent the time filling in forms for said woman earlier who also thought passing on 8 page medical questionnaire forms on the last day of term was a good idea.  So, I missed my daughter’s last afternoon of fun.

All of the last term our year 5 and 6’s have been working on Macbeth.  As we couldn’t do a production, we decided to make a film instead.  As restrictions have lifted slightly, we held a film premier last night to watch it.  Lots of food and water, an air conditioned room and good fun was had.  The school was decorated up and the children had their gold stars, just like Hollywood. It was an excellent film if I do say so myself.  Very, very proud of our children, the class teacher (Hollowspy) and TA for creating such a fabulous piece, based on a BBC children’s unit.  

If you fancy a watch and have a spare 45 minutes, search ‘Macbeth from Grindleford Primary School’ on YouTube.  I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.