De Foyer, Antwerp

After my Zumba class this morning I drove to Antwerp to meet blip buddy Karin, otherwise known as 'Bhenkk'. Karin lives in Antwerp and we arranged to meet for lunch at the beautiful Brasserie 'De Foyer' which is within the 19th century Bourla Theatre. It's an amazing circular building which has a very ornately painted domed ceiling with stained glass roof, and huge chandeliers.

I first met Karin in September when we had a Brussels blip meet, and we've remained in touch since, so it was nice to get together again. The sun was shining today and it was 12 degrees, so after lunch we went for a walk through the botanical gardens and then headed to the river.

In the 1930's a pedestrian tunnel was constructed under the river, which is 572 meters long and can be accessed by a lift or by the original wooden escalators. We decided to go down, and walked through the tunnel coming out on the left bank. I'm glad we did as it was lovely to see the city of Antwerp from across the river.

We had a great afternoon, and my blip today had to be the inside of De Foyer. I took quite a few different photos as it was difficult to capture the the full extent of the ceiling, but I like the angle of this one.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.