jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Blessings

Today has been a day of blessings...

Timmy Time and a chocolate wafer bar per boy bought me some precious peace and quiet this morning after breakfast

Bear discovered playdough was good for playing with, not just eating! Inky black galaxy playdough was a huge hit :)

Bathtime for the boys at last

Anonymous grocery delivery of buckwheat, lentils, pumpkin seeds, yummy bread flour, almonds, and oat bars - all yummy healthy things that I would probably buy if we had the money! Tickles me that the person who did this (I had my suspicions, and have managed to thank her!) even gave them my mobile number, so I had a text message yesterday saying my delivery slot was today between 4-5pm!!

And the thing that almost made me cry with how special it was - Bean singing Twinkle twinkle as a lullaby just now, because my voice is currently very broken. (Am actually surprised at how little it bothers me that my voice is broken, given that it has been one of the major things that I have used to define me.)

Surprised myself this morning, during our playdough time. Consciously didn't take many pictures, because I was ashamed. Ashamed of the state of our house, of the state of the boys - bare, unplastered walls, peeling wallpaper that we've yet to take off, Bear with his hair still plastered in yoghurt, piles of boxes and Stuff everywhere... and this was after I'd tidied the table.

But I chatted to Steve about it. For my part, I was ashamed of it because I would never get the perfect photographs of my perfect kids doing their perfect activities needed to make my blog a pin-worthy destination to be talked about. But then, I looked around and looked properly, and I could see nothing to be ashamed of. It was all life, as we're living it now. Steve, well he had a realisation about the widow who gave her two coins - she gave out of her poverty, not out of her wealth. He realised we don't need to have a perfect house to host people or share life. We host out of our lack - and trust and believe that when we reach the end of ourselves, there we find God.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.