About 1.5 Storeys High

It's a windmill!... It's a tower!... It's a... DELFT BLUE TULIP VASE!

Standing proudly just after the access road from Delft to the A13, close to a filling station... unbelievable!  Every single time I passed by it, I thought of shooting it, but at least I already knew exactly where it was, so no hassle.  What I did not know was that it is surrounded by a canal and a kind of 'wilderness', where obviously no one is allowed, and I can see why it was set up there -- to prevent anti-social folks from dirtying it with graffiti or piss or beer bottles and hypodermic needles and what not.  It is, however, not out of reach of the camera lens.

Before driving to the spot, I started emptying some of the kitchen cabinets.  AW left for an overnight at Eindhoven and the moment I knew that that was on his agenda, I thought of what I'd like to finish while he was away.  I am happy to do a lot of work while he's out as there is then no one hanging around and asking what I'm doing and why, and 'why don't you do it like this instead' and 'why do you always do this instead of that' and more of those questions.  Emptied some of the boxes in my cozy corner, cleaned them thoroughly and disinfected them, then lined them with towels and put my glass and china in them, at least what we don't regularly use, and they're now all safe in the spare (laundry) room.  We will not be having a kitchen for some two weeks starting 13 September, so put some kitchen appliances in a cabinet downstairs as they can be used instead of a stove, and polished it all up with a load of vacuuming.  In between all that, I made sure to watch Sifan Hassan capture the gold for the 10000m -- what a phenomenal woman!  So strong and tough and free!  Then took a break by driving to Delft to shoot this, a long drive because I also observed where the clouds were going while I was on the road, and where they went I did not want to go.  Passed by the supermarket on my way back.

Back home, more putting away and cleaning, and then dinner, and then more cleaning again, and then some gaming, and then the marathon began, and I cleaned and vacuumed and put away stuff until I was tired.  No early bed, though, because I wanted to see what our indoor cyclists were going to do.  A very, very late night.

Thank you loads for the stars and hearts for yesterday's wildflower!  It was such a tiny thing but so pretty.  Especially thankful for today's peace and quiet, and the energy I had to get so many things done, and done the way I wanted them to be.  It was a busy, tiring, but terribly satisfying day.

Opening my comments again... we'll see how that works out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.