Happiness

I have never before taken part in any Blip challenges. But this one was intriguing. I normally just go about my day, with a camera, take whatever I see and then choose a blip from the results. Today I had to decide whether to decide in advance what would best signify happiness for me or alternatively to seek out people being happy and spoil their day by photographing them.

I decided on two courses: first, look up some "happiness" quotations and see how that might help. Secondly, do what I normally do and see what I can see that means "happiness" to me.

My three happiness quotations were these:

"Happiness is the meaning and the purpose of life, the whole aim and end of human existence." Aristotle

"Success is getting what you want. Happiness is wanting what you get." Kinsella

"I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. Yesterday is dead. Tomorrow hasn't arrived yet. I have just one day today and I'm going to be happy in it." Groucho Marx


They didn't help.

In the course of my day, I went to a bookshop, to try to find a recommended novel. I didn't find it but took some photographs. Books probably give me as much pleasure in life as any other object. There are many things I enjoy which I could do without but books would be indispensable. Similarly, bookshops are the only shops which I really enjoy and feel happy and relaxed in. Books bring happiness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.