JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 222: in my neighbour's garden

The nicest part of today was being in my neighbour C's garden this morning. The globe artichokes and oregano were humming with bees, he invited me to pick peas and gave me beetroots, and we sat outside for our Tuesday coffee surrounded by bright pots of stripey zinnias, a border of red pelargoniums, and a gravel garden with a sundial surrounded by orange-red poppies. It's lovely to have blue sky and sun back after a lot of miserably wet and cloudy days. The second extra shows part of his vegetable garden with his grassy "field" and a few of his beautiful trees beyond.

Less nice was the first stage in dealing with the blighted tomatoes. I have removed all obviously affected leaves and fruit and consigned them to the bonfire, along with a couple of entire plants. Removing some of the growth showed clearly how far the stems are affected, so it's clear that tomorrow I must remove all the green tomatoes, which can be made into chutney if I use them promptly, but cannot be kept to ripen as blight spores will soon cause them to rot. For now, the plants on the balcony seem healthy - fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.