Grammy

By Grammy

Rural America - then as now

Steamy today; heat index 110 deg F. We are expecting thunderstorms tonight. Trek wanted breakfast before 6:00 am - why? Fed pets but could not get back to sleep. For some reason last night, Trek kept going to the window by the couch where I sleep and barked/growled a lot. I could not relax/sleep as he was focused toward the same spot where the guy drove in the yard. This is an upscale waterfront neighborhood so problems are rare. Still…. Had pancakes and fruit on the deck before the heat moved in. Hubby brought me coffee on his way to do PM on the camper’s battery compartment. I ran home and packed non-perishables for the trip and bought groceries needed for stuff I’m cooking before we leave. Took a few shots of this 1948 Chevy on the way back to my daughter’s. It can be yours for $5,000. This picture, with the wide blue sky, could have been taken “during the good old days” years ago - the barn and corn field have been there forever. Had a short nap before finalizing plans for all I need to do before leaving for WV. Thanks for the visits, stars and generous comments. And thanks to today’s wide Wednesday host. “Oh, give me back the good old days of fifty years ago,“ has been the cry ever since Adam's fifty-first birthday.” - Jerome K. Jerome

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.