TexMama

By TexMama

Van Gogh

A few weeks ago my hubby found a children's book about Van Gogh, "The First Starry Night" by Joan Isom, while he was clearing out some trash from a rent house. It looked nice so this week the kids and I sat down to read it and then used oil pastels and watercolour to re-create a 'starry night' style sky. The story was lovely, definitely recommend if you have children around to read to...and our art project was fun too :0) ...althouh I think I would have liked to get some oil paints and canvas and let the kids have some real messy fun...maybe another time.
We read the info. on the back of the book about who Van Gogh was, I almost convinced them I'd met him with my old pic of Van Gogh from the wax museum in Amsterdam (they were really impressed at how real the wax statue was, and yes, they really would believe Im that old), and then someone remembered that "he was the guy with the sunflowers in that episode of Dr. Who!" ...aha, you can never underestimate how important watching Dr. Who is to your children's education :0)

I'v gotten a bit behind again but I have been looking at pics, hopefully I'll get some commenting in tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.