kettwigefrau

By kettwigefrau

Magpie

I am old enough to know better but when I go clothes shopping I am always drawn to things with sequins on, always, age appropriate or no, I just can't help myself. Fortunately I am sensible enough now to stop myself from buying, although my wardrobe is not without sparkle.

The sun was out showing off this morning, flirting around with the blue sky (don't get jealous, normal service has been resumed with a thick cloud cover) so it made the walk along the river reasonably pleasant - only reasonably because the sun also flushes out all the damn cyclists who seem to think that the river path is a fahrradbahn* - it's enough to make me pray for rain, or ice...

This week has been the last week of proper school for those Abi (abitur = end of school exams) kids. Traditionally it's a week of chaos when the Abi kids organise pranks, disrupt schooling, skip classes to drink beer in the sunshine (good luck with that this year!) and come to school every day dressed according to the day's motto -as organised amongst themselves.
Monday they were all in pajamas, a scary amount of the guys seem to own white towelling bath robes.
Tuesday's theme was twins, everyone had a double, I saw two popes, at least four Mexicans, two cats and apparently some kids had melted their clothes together in order to be siamese twins - clever.
Wedneday was children's fictional characters - Winnie the Pooh, Barbie, Princess Jasmine & Aladdin all seen milling about outside the school.
Thursday was more obscure and I couldn't work it out, I saw a guy dressed as an old woman another dressed as a pregnant woman and two kids dressed as flat cap wearing, walking stick waving old men. The motto was 'lebensabschnitt' which translates as 'chapter in one's life'.
Today was the final day and I didn't see much in the way of costumes, I rather got the impression that the celebrating had become more earnest if the number of bottles and emptied cans along the wall opposite the school was anything to go by!


* so if 'autobahn' is where cars can go fast, a 'fahrradbahn' (where fahrrad = bike) ought to be a place where bikes can go fast, no?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.