Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Waiting waiting waiting . . .

"What breaks in daybreak? Is it the night? Is it the sun, cracked in two by the horizon like an egg, spilling out light?"
? Margaret Atwood

What a gorgeous morning!

This is what I woke up to; daybreak; the promise of sunrise, and ships. I had to grab my camera, and tried out all sorts of shots. I've chosen this one because it feels 'reminiscing' to me. I was wondering how long the ships would be waiting out there, wondering if they were waiting because of higher weekend wharfage costs in Lyttelton harbour. Wondering what everyone on board would be doing. Reminiscing about ships I've been on, leaning on the rail and waiting for the sunrise. It was a peaceful and reflective time.

And waiting for the sunrise. That was intense, a real blaze of colour - I think there might have been a green flash as there weren't any clouds on the horizon, and I missed it this time.

The location on the map is where the ships were - I wasn't out there!
It'll likely look better in large. L.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.