Stitches for Survival

This afternoon I was at Clarencefield Village hall to meet these lovely women who belong to local quilters' groups. They had all made a piece for Stitches for Survival. The pieces will eventually be joined with others from all over the country (and beyond!) to form a 1.5 mile long scarf, which represents the 1.5 degree centigrade limit mentioned in the Climate Change meeting in Paris in 2015. The completed scarf will be displayed in Glasgow for COP26 in November. In the meantime, these individual pieces from Dumfries and Galloway will be displayed at The Usual Place Cafe in Dumfries for 3 weeks, starting on Monday.

When I arrived at Clarencefield, a photographer from The Wigtownshire Free Press was busy arranging the women and their quilts into some kind of order. We squinted into the bright sun for a while and then thankfully he moved us to another part of the car park. Once he'd finished, I put down my piece and quickly took my own photo :-)

Once that was all over, I whizzed back to Dumfries in time to meet Sarah from the station. It is so lovely to have her here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.