BRIANW

By BRIANW

Superstar DJ (Da Bruvver), Aylesford

Friday evening is, of course, my favourite night of the week for obvious reasons.It has been made even more pleasurable by saving episodes of Guy Garvey: From The Vaults for the exact moment when I can get home, sit down and enjoy a glass of wine. We've now watched the last one and we'll feel a little bereft next week. It's a brilliant programme about music from the Seventies and Eighties and often features very rare archive footage from the ITV and Channel 4 archives of bands and singers from that era, some very well known (e.g. U2 performing in their very, very early days) and some not so much (e.g.Blancmange). I grew up in that era so a lot of it brings memories rushing back. I also love Guy Garvey's enthusiastic and knowledgeable commentary and the joy he takes from the performances. Music really is the food of love.
Today's image is of my brother mucking about with a set of headphones and some fairy lights pretending to be a superstar DJ. Unfortunately, like me he hates night-clubs and thinks a lot of dance music is rubbish so I think Da Bruvver won't be coming to a venue near you anytime soon. He does look the part, though, especially in his sunglasses which are made of wood!
The other programme I have loved recently was Richard E. Grant's Wrirte Around The World. Like Guy Garvey he is an enthusiast and a wonderful, charming guide to the world of books. His programme was a pure joy to watch, so it was so sad to hear that his wife died yesterday. He must be so heartbroken. My thoughts go out to him and his family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.